Philately in the Bournemouth Area

Somerset and Dorset Philatelic Federation


Somerset & Dorset
Philatelic Federation



This Federation is affiliated to the ABPS where details of other Federations, Events, Judging and Exhibition Seminars
and a myriad of information can be found


President:- Richard Stroud (01278 782235)
Vice President:- Les Berry (01297 32248)
Vice President:- James Hooper (01935 424043)
Vice President:- Ken Ramsey (01305 786661)
Chairman:- James Hooper (01935 424043)
Vice-Chairman:- Mike Breward (0117 9567893)
Secretary:- Carol Turner (01643 704128)
Treasurer:- Roger Marsh (01935 814367)
Competitions Secretary:- James Hooper (01935 42443)
Quiz Master:- Mike Welch

Events and Activities

(To see the reports on events in 2014, 2015 and 2016, please click here)


47th Annual General Meeting
This was held at 2pm on Saturday 11 November 2017 at Taunton Stamp Exhibition & Fair, St James' Hall, Taunton

Committee Meeting
The next Meeting will be held on Saturday 14 April 2018 at 2pm at the Westfield United Reform Church Hall, West Street, Bridgwater TA6 7EU

Federation Quiz Meeting - 2018
The next Federation Inter-Club Quiz will be held on Thursday 24 May, 2018 at Yeovil.
(Clubs can send teams of up to 4 members and supporters)
(Secretary Mrs Elizabeth Higgins 01278 459378)

Federation Competitions - 2017 and 2018
The 2017 Competitions were held on Tuesday 26 September, 2017 during the evening meeting held by Wells Philatelic Society. Meetings are held at The Town Hall, Wells BA5 2RB, at 7.30pm
The 2018 Competitions will be held by the Yeovil & District Philatelic Society, Digby Memorial Hall, Sherborne DT9 3NL
on Saturday 6 October 2018

Competition Rules - click here for the 2017 Rules, which still apply

Federation Competitions - 2018
The 2018 Competitions will be hosted by the Yeovil Philatelic Society, date to be advised.


Federation Member Clubs, Programmes and Speakers List

List of Member Clubs and their Contacts

Member Clubs 2016-2017 Programmes

Member Clubs 2017-2018 Programmes

Somerset & Dorset Federation Speakers List


Results of the
2016 Somerset and Dorset Philatelic Federation Competition (Axe Vale)

Class A Open 1st - B Paulle Przedborz City Post 1917/18 - (80) Bridport & Charmouth
  Second J. F. Roe (GB Lilac & Greens) Bristol
  Third T. J. Hooper (Austria 1850 - 1865 Stamp issues & usage) Yeovil
Class B General First R Marsh (Elihu Burritt and the "Ocean Penny Post") Yeovil
  2nd - B. Paulle Warsaw Town Post 1915/16 - (77) Bridport & Charmouth
  Third E. Rendel ("Germany - Allied occupation Russian Zone") Yeovil
Class C Postal History First J. F. Roe (Inspector's Marks on London P.H. Undeliverable Mail) Bristol
  Second T. J. Hooper (Austrian Inflation Period X. (Postal Rates)) Yeovil
  Third B. Paull (Postcards from Poland 1919-1924) Bridport and Charmouth
Class D Thematic First B. Paull (Tunnels) Bridport & Charmouth
  Second S. Page (The Valture Family) Bridport & Charmouth
  Third F. R. Blackah (A Junket of Junks) Bridport & Charmouth
Class E Juniors No entries    
Class F Air Mail First B. Paull (Warsaw Airmail Service 1922 to 1925) Bridport & Charmouth
  Second N. A. Arrow ("Make a Sixpence Fly") Axe Vale
Class G Postcards First S. Page (Lynton & Lynmouth Cliff Railway) Bridport & Charmouth

Results of the
2017 Somerset and Dorset Philatelic Federation Competition (Wells)

Class A Open 1st: B Hunt Australia - King George V 1½d - (81) Bridport
  2nd: T J Hooper Austria 1850-1861, Stamp issues and useage - (77) Yeovil
  3rd: N Jones New Zealand 4d Lake Topo - (74) Bristol
Class B General 1st: F R Blackah China - Definitive Issue of Dr Sun Yat-Sen 1931-1949 - (79) Bridport
  2nd: B Paulle Poland Provisional Issue after World War I - (77) Bridport
  3rd: B Hunt Falkland Islands Discovery & Settlement - (69) Bridport
Class C Postal History 1st: B Paulle Przedborz City Post 1917-1918 - (80) Bridport
  2nd=: T J Hooper 1914-1918 Civil Censors for Centinje - (79) Yeovil
  2nd=: N Jones Chepstow Postal History - (79) Bridport
Class D Thematic 1st: R Gillard The Life, The Death & The Resurrection: Summarising the work of Alphonse Mucha - (63½) Bristol
  2nd: B Paulle Civil Engineering - (58) Bridport
  3rd: R Marsh Isambard Kingdom Brunel (56) Yeovil
Class E Juniors No entries    
Class F Air Mail 1st: B Paulle Polish Forces Airmail Meditettanean Area 1943-1946 - (86) Bridport
  2nd: N Jones New Zealand Airmails - (78) Bristol
  3rd: J F Roe Early Flights over India - (72) Bristol
Class G Postcards 1st: F R Blakah The Great Escape - (86) Bridport
  2nd: B Paulle Piddle through the Puddles - (84) Bridport
  3rd: C Wheeler The Artists and Musicians of Cheyne Walk - (73) Poole & Bournemouth


(To see the reports on events in 2014, 2015 and 2016, please click here)


Copyright © 2008
Last updated 28 March 2018